"The Wilds" was released on Amazon Prime last month and has been gaining traction steadily since then. banjo. Kind of like the pronunciation argument for “Colorado.” I’ve heard it with a short a, and with a long a. “Lay” is right. Hi Caleb. Although we can all agree that the Appalachian Trail is a beautiful, wondrous footpath that extends nearly 2,200 miles from Georgia to Maine, when it comes to something as basic as to how it’s pronounced, the room is split. ; ), Being a descendant of both those who came over on the Mayflower and those who founded the State of Franklin which was the predecessor of the State of Tennessee, I feel compelled to comment on what I have read here. ~~banjo~~ 171. I feel kinda dumb now bc I’m in my 40s and consider myself well read and rather well educated in basic pronunciation. So let’s figure this out! pronouncekiwi - How To Pronounce Appalaches. It’s redundant. Going down the list… I’m not from a remote or backwoods area. I studied neuropsychology there and I’m about as far from an uneducated hick or hillbilly as one can get. I studied and sang the Lieder of Rachmaninoff, Schubert, Schumann and the oratorio arias of Handel, Mendelssohn and many others in college, and have continued to do so for over thirty years, after graduation from college. Unlike other survival shows, there's a bit more to the story than what first meets the eye. The crossword clue possible answer is available in 3 letters. You need to learn the language. That is the simple, direct and correct explanation for the “latch” pronunciation, and the countless other sloppy, incorrect hillbilly pronunciations, habits and customs which prevail in hillbilly-populated areas of our country. “It’s a Cherokee word and they don’t have the long a sound” – the best point here. Like us on Facebook! Ha ha!! He taught me they forgot to add another “s” to Kansas. Owner / Editor-in-Chief at thetrek.co. If the first time you hear it is one way, that’s the right way. See All . 02-06-2013,